Beginning the New Year

Standard

Ah, ’tis the time of year when we make resolutions and promptly forget about them.

Seriously, though, research indicates that most resolutions are broken by the third week of January!  I enjoy resolutions because I think they’re a good way to look at the year ahead and think about what you’d like to get out of it.  And since willpower is a finite resource, much like cash, it’s worth it to streamline that thought process into something simple that will carry me throughout the year.

With that in mind, I believe this year’s resolution is going to be about freedom.

2011 was both a year of pain and a year of great clarity for me.  My marriage ended.  I had a cancer scare.  My job is uncertain.  I had to refinance my home and take on some divorce debt that I wasn’t expecting.  And on and on.  I also took the trip of my lifetime abroad and here in the States.  I met some wonderful people.  I clarified what it is I really want out of my life.  And what I want is freedom.

The concept is broad but it can be channeled in many ways.  There are so many avenues to which freedom applies.  I want to be free from debt obligations, for example.  That will enable me to have more freedom in my work, since my work is notoriously underpaid.  Freedom from debt means greater freedom to spend one’s time as one likes.  I want to be free of useless projects and things that sap my time and energy so that energy is free to do other things, like write and watercolor.  I want to be free from dependence on poor food and energy choices.  I want to feel free to look at life and think “why not?” instead of “how can I possibly afford to do such a thing?” (both in terms of money and in terms of energy). I want to feel free to drink my coffee and read the paper without worrying too much about what lies ahead in the day and not really enjoying the coffee or the paper.  I want to be free from clutter.  That will mean purging some things in the house and the closet that are simply taking up space and freeing that space for other purposes — or no purpose at all!  I want to feel free in a relationship again — free to be who I am, free to love and be loved.

So I believe my energy this year will be put toward those things which make me a freer soul.  I know that is a vague resolution, and resolutions are supposed to be about clear concepts.  But I think keeping my freedom in the forefront will help me identify those situations where I am being weighted down — by useless stuff, unnecessary emotions, whatever — and work toward a life less bondaged.

Happy New Year!

4 responses »

  1. Freedom’s just another word for nothin’ left to lose…

    😉 Janis could’ve been right about that.

    So did the cancer scare turn out to be just that: a scare only?

    Here’s to a 2012 full of all those freedoms. This inspires me to go shovel out some clutter…only 14 days left to get stuff done before class starts.

  2. So far, it’s a scare only. However, I’m on the “watch list” for the rest of this new year, so it’s difficult for me to feel like I can breathe a sigh of relief. The recovery from my procedure to nip it in the bud (quite literally) turned out to be more involved than I’d planned. 😦 But it could’ve been so much worse, so I’m very grateful for small blessings. Thank you for asking.

  3. Freedom in 2012 – that’s a great goal! And you’re completely right that there are many different aspects to freedom – financial, locational and physical to name a few! I wish you the best of luck in reaching your goals!

Leave a Reply

