99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall…

Standard

We’ve started the brewing process to make our own beer!  How fabulous to craft and bottle your own special brews.

This is something I’ve always wanted to do and simply haven’t found the time for until now.  An early Christmas present jumpstarted the process.  The kit was originally $80 but was on sale for $40; it includes everything from sterilization start to bottled finish.  It even comes with plastic beer bottles.  This means I’ll be saving my old beer bottles, as I’m sure the taste of plastic will not enhance the flavor.

We’ll have to come up with a clever name for the beer.  Maybe call it Hiss, since I’m a cat lover…

Turns out the whole process takes close to a month from start to finish.  What?!  I thought I would be sipping on an IPA by tomorrow!  So I suppose we’ll need a bit more brewing equipment to make sure things are moving along at a reasonable pace — one batch fermenting while one batch is conditioning.  Not going to get too invested in it, though, until I can see if we can make a drinkable brew.  😀  I would especially love to recreate one apricot beer I had in San Francisco a few years ago.

Cost so far, $40.  Benefit so far:  Loads of excitement!

Leave a Reply

